When A2 deliberately plays the ball to B9, who is offside, what should happen?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

In the scenario where A2 deliberately plays the ball to B9, who is in an offside position, the correct outcome is that B9 is allowed to continue to play. This is because being in an offside position alone does not constitute an infraction. The Laws of the Game specify that a player can only be penalized for offside if they are involved in active play at the moment the ball is played to them. In this instance, if B9 does not interfere with an opponent or gain an advantage from their position when A2 plays the ball, they can legally participate in the play.

The offside rule is intended to prevent players from gaining an unfair advantage by positioning themselves too close to the opponent's goal line. Thus, unless B9 becomes actively involved in the play while in the offside position, there is no infraction, and the game continues as normal.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy