What should the referee do if A7 falls and kicks the ball to A12 while still on the ground?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When A7 falls and is still on the ground but kicks the ball to A12, the play can legally continue. According to the Laws of the Game, players are not prohibited from playing the ball while in a prone position, as long as they do not do so in a dangerous or reckless manner. Since A7’s action does not violate any rules, the referee should allow play to continue without interruption.

In this situation, if A7 is not in distress and the action of kicking the ball does not compromise safety, there is no reason to halt the game for an injury check or give a warning for delaying the game. A medical timeout would also be unnecessary unless A7 clearly indicates that they cannot continue playing due to injury. Thus, permitting play to continue reflects an understanding of players’ rights to participate actively, even if they are on the ground, as long as it does not jeopardize their safety or the safety of others on the field.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy