What should happen if A10, in an offside position, receives a pass accidentally redirected from a teammate?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a player is in an offside position, they can only be penalized for offside if they become involved in active play, which includes interfering with an opponent or gaining an advantage from their position. In this scenario, A10 receives a pass that has been accidentally redirected from a teammate. Because the ball was not intentionally played to A10 by the teammate but rather deflected, it does not constitute a deliberate action that would trigger an offside offense. Therefore, A10 is allowed to continue with play without being penalized for offside.

This principle is rooted in the laws of the game, which protect players from being penalized for receiving the ball under circumstances that do not involve a purposeful play by a teammate. The focus is on the intent and the nature of the ball's last touch, and in cases of accidental redirection, the player is considered to have not gained an unfair advantage.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy