What should a referee do if A4 is in an offside position but not involved in active play when A3 scores?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a player is in an offside position but does not interfere with play, the referee should allow the goal to stand. In this scenario, A4 is positioned offside but is not involved in active play when A3 scores, which means that A4 did not interfere with an opponent or gain an advantage from their position.

The Laws of the Game state that a player is only penalized for being offside if they are involved in active play at the time the ball is played to them by a teammate. Since A4 is not part of the active play during the scoring, the goal scored by A3 is valid. This understanding helps clarify why any action against the goal or the player in offside position would be inappropriate in this situation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy