What is the ruling if a direct kick is taken, but the player kicks the ball back into their own goal?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

A goal is awarded to the opposing team if a player takes a direct kick and accidentally kicks the ball back into their own goal. This ruling is based on the Laws of the Game, specifically relating to how goals can be scored. According to the rules, if a direct kick is taken and the ball enters the player’s own goal, it is counted as a goal for the opposing team, regardless of intent.

In this scenario, it is important to distinguish the type of kick taken. Since it was a direct kick, the laws apply differently than other circumstances involving indirect kicks or accidental situations. The nature of direct kicks typically allows for the potential scoring of goals, even if the result is against the player's own team. Thus, the correct action is to award the goal to the opposing team.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy