What is the ruling if A3 receives the ball directly from a corner kick while in an offside position?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a player receives the ball directly from a corner kick, the Laws of the Game state that they cannot be penalized for being in an offside position. This is because a corner kick is considered a method of restarting play where the offside rule does not apply. Therefore, if A3 receives the ball directly from the corner kick, the play should continue without any offside violation being called.

This ruling is crucial as it encourages attacking play from corner situations, allowing teams to take advantage of set pieces without the concern that a player positioned opportunistically near the goal could be flagged for offside. In this context, options regarding flagging A3 for offside or retaking the kick do not apply, as the offside rule is lifted in this specific scenario. Additionally, awarding a penalty kick is irrelevant since no foul has occurred in this situation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy