What is the result when B19, who is standing in an offside position, receives the ball after it deflects off A11?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a player is in an offside position, they can still be considered onside if they are not actively involved in the play at the moment the ball is played to them. However, in this scenario, B19 is standing in an offside position and receives the ball directly after it deflects off another player, A11.

According to the Laws of the Game, if the deflection comes off an opponent and the player in the offside position becomes involved in active play after that deflection, they can still be penalized for offside. This is because the original position of B19 was offside, and the deflection does not negate that status unless the deflection was intentional or purposeful.

Thus, since B19 was in an offside position and received the ball following a deflection from A11 (not a deliberate play), they are penalized for being in an offside position at the moment the ball was last played. This leads to the conclusion that the correct answer is that B19 is penalized for being offside.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy