What is the referee's ruling when goalkeeper A1 deflects the ball and it spins into the goal due to momentum?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When the ball is deflected by the goalkeeper and subsequently spins into the goal due to momentum, the correct ruling is to allow the goal. In soccer, the laws state that a goal is awarded when the entire ball crosses the goal line between the goalposts and beneath the crossbar, provided that no rules were violated in the process. In this scenario, if the deflection was a legitimate play by the goalkeeper and no foul or rule infraction occurred prior to the ball entering the goal, the fact that it spun in due to momentum does not negate the goal. This situation is viewed similarly to any other circumstance where the ball finds its way into the net following legal play by any player, including the goalkeeper.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy