What is the proper outcome for a player who handles the ball accidentally while it’s in play with their hand?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

The scenario of a player handling the ball accidentally during play falls under the concept of "unintentional handball." In soccer, the Laws of the Game recognize that not all instances of a player making contact with the ball using their hand or arm warrant a foul. If the player did not deliberately handle the ball—meaning there was no intent to play the ball with their hand or arm—the game should continue. The idea behind this is to maintain the flow of the game and avoid stopping it for insignificant infractions that do not affect the play.

In the context of this question, since the handling was accidental, allowing the game to continue aligns with the principles of maintaining a fair and enjoyable game for both teams, minimizing interruptions for minor or unintentional actions.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy