What is the proper call if A14 is hit by the ball while her hand is at her side?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When A14 is hit by the ball while her hand is at her side, the proper call is to allow play to continue because the situation does not constitute a handling violation. According to the Laws of the Game, a player is only penalized for handling the ball if it is judged to be deliberate or if the player gains an advantage from the ball striking their hand. Since A14's hand is at her side and there is no indication of intent or a direct advantage gained, the action is considered accidental and not a foul. This understanding helps maintain the flow of the game and ensures that players are not penalized for unintentional ball contact.

The other options imply a stop in play or a foul assessment that are based on an incorrect interpretation of the Laws. Stopping play for a free kick or giving a foul against A14 would disrupt the game for a situation that does not warrant such actions. Consulting with the assistant referee could be unnecessary in this case, especially if the incident is clearly observable by the center referee. Thus, allowing play to continue is the most appropriate call in this scenario.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy