What is the correct ruling when A9 attempts to kick the ball while still on the ground next to A7?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When A9 attempts to kick the ball while still on the ground next to A7, this situation is classified as dangerous play. The Laws of the Game define dangerous play as any action that creates a risk of injury to players, including attempts to play the ball while in a vulnerable position or when not in full control of their body.

In this case, A9's action could potentially endanger A7, who may not be aware that A9 is trying to kick the ball while on the ground. Thus, the referee must intervene to protect the players and maintain the integrity of the game. Calling a foul for dangerous play is appropriate here, as it recognizes the risk associated with A9's action. This ruling prioritizes player safety and ensures that the game is played fairly and within the established rules.

The other options do not adequately address the potential risk posed by A9's action. Continuing to allow play would not account for the danger A9 creates by being on the ground and attempting to kick. Calling a foul on A7 does not align with the context, as A7 is not the player committing the act of dangerous play; A9 is the one at fault. Substituting A9 out of the game is also excessive

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy