What is the consequence if Team B's coach argues a call and interferes with play?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a coach from Team B argues a call and interferes with play, the appropriate consequence is to award Team A a direct kick. This is because the Laws of the Game stipulate that if a coach or any team official interferes with play, it can result in a free kick being awarded to the opposing team. The purpose of this rule is to maintain the integrity of the game and ensure that all participants respect the officials' decisions.

In situations where the game is disrupted due to a coach's actions, a direct kick is typically given as a means of penalizing the offending team for unsportsmanlike conduct. The idea is to discourage coaches and players from engaging in behavior that could distract from the game's flow or place undue pressure on referees.

The other options do not align with the rules governing the behavior of coaches and the consequences of their actions on the field. A penalty kick is only awarded in specific foul situations committed by the defending team within their own penalty area, while a free throw is not even a term used in soccer. Therefore, the awarding of a direct kick is the correct course of action for the described scenario.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy