What happens if a player's throw-in does not completely cross the touchline?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a player's throw-in fails to completely cross the touchline, the correct course of action is that the throw-in is awarded to the opposing team. The rationale behind this rule is to ensure that the throw-in is executed properly, allowing for fair play. If the throw-in does not meet the criteria of crossing the touchline, it indicates that the rules governing throw-ins have not been followed. Therefore, the opposing team benefits from having the opportunity to perform a proper throw-in, reinforcing the importance of adhering to game regulations.

In this situation, if a throw-in does not completely cross the touchline, allowing the same team to retake the throw may not promote fair play. Thus, the option of retaking the throw-in or allowing play to continue does not align with the objective of enforcing the rules. Furthermore, declaring the ball out of play is unnecessary, as the ball is still in play even if the throw-in was not executed correctly, which is why it is critical to award the throw-in to the opposing team.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy