What happens if a player in an offside position returns to their own half and receives the ball directly?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a player is in an offside position at the moment the ball is played to them, they are considered to be violating the offside rule if they become involved in active play. However, if that same player returns to their own half of the field and receives the ball directly from a teammate, the situation changes.

In this case, the action is legal. A player who is in an offside position but moves back into their own half is no longer considered to be offside when they receive the ball. The laws of the game state that a player is not offside if they are in their own half of the field.

Therefore, the correct interpretation is that it is legal for the player to receive the ball because being in their own half means they are no longer violating the offside rule, regardless of whether they were originally in an offside position when the ball was initially played.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy