If B1 traps the ball during a throw-in and then picks it up with his hands, what does the official do?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

The situation described involves B1 legally receiving the ball during a throw-in but then subsequently handling it by picking it up with his hands. According to the Laws of the Game, a player is permitted to use their feet to trap the ball from a throw-in; however, once the ball is played by a teammate from a throw-in, it becomes in play. If B1 handles the ball with their hands after trapping it, this constitutes a violation of the rules since only goalkeepers are allowed to use their hands in their own penalty area.

In this case, the action is deemed a foul, specifically for handling the ball improperly. Consequently, the correct ruling by the official is to award an indirect free kick to the opposing team—Team A—at the spot of the infraction. This is in line with enforcing the rules of fair play and discouraging improper handling.

The other options do not align with the circumstance. For instance, awarding a penalty kick would apply only if a foul occurred within the penalty area, which is not the case here. Allowing the goalkeeper to continue playing is irrelevant because the goalkeeper did not commit any infraction in this situation. Restoring the game with a goal kick is also not appropriate, as a goal kick is

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy