If a throw-in does not enter the field and lands outside the touchline, what should the referee do?

Prepare for the NFHS Soccer Exam with our challenging quiz questions. Test your knowledge of rules and strategies to ensure you're ready to succeed in officiating or coaching duties. Each question includes detailed explanations to enhance your understanding!

When a throw-in is executed but fails to enter the field of play and instead lands outside the touchline, the appropriate action for the referee is to allow the throw-in to be retaken. However, since the answer provided states that a throw-in is awarded to Team A at the original spot, it touches on the principles of maintaining possession and fairness in the game.

In this case, the original team that was taking the throw-in would still have the chance to reattempt it from the same spot, ensuring they retain their opportunity to advance the game and maintain possession as if the first throw-in were canceled.

Ultimately, allowing the throw-in to be retaken ensures that the game is played according to the established rules, providing the team the chance to perform the throw-in correctly, thereby upholding the principles of soccer officiating.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy